Here’s a quick question. In Windows, if you have a program running when you reboot your machine, does Windows:

  1. Start up clean, regardless of what was running at the time of shutdown?
  2. Boot, then automatically launch all of the previously running programs?
  3. Give you an option, to choose between 1 and 2?

The answer? In every version of Windows that I’ve used (going back to Windows 286), it’s clearly the first option. Of course you don’t want your old junk to come back. Cleaning out and starting fresh is a, uh, time-honored Windows tradition.

To read this article in full, please click here